Steering Group

The Earth System Governance Project operates under the direction of a Steering Group that is appointed by Future Earth.

In 2009-2013, the Earth System Governance Project has operated under the direction of a Scientific Steering Committee that was appointed by the International Human Dimensions Programme on Global Environmental Change (IHDP). In this period, the Project has evolved into a broader research alliance that builds on an international network of research centreslead faculty, and research fellows. Since the termination of the IHDP in 2014, the activities of the Earth System Governance research alliance are supported by an international steering group of representatives of the main Earth System Governance Research Centres and the global group of lead faculty and research fellows. 


Prof. Frank Biermann
Utrecht University, The Netherlands


Prof. Michele M. Betsill
Colorado State University, United States of America
Prof. John S. Dryzek
University of Canberra, Australia
Prof. Chris Gordon
Institute for Environment and Sanitation Studies, University of Ghana, Ghana
Prof. Joyeeta Gupta
UNESCO-IHE Institute for Water Education, and University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Prof. Norichika Kanie
Keio University, and United Nations University Institute for the Advanced Study of Sustainability (UNU-IAS), Japan
Prof. Lennart Olsson
Lund University, Sweden
Dr. Heike Schroeder
University of East Anglia, United Kingdom
Dr. Michelle Scobie
The University of the West Indies, Trinidad and Tobago