Parallel Sessions

Sessions A

Sessions B

Sessions C

Sessions D

Sessions E

Conference Information Book
(pdf) »

Book of Abstracts sorted by Sessions
(pdf) »



Department of
Political Science
Lund University

Lund University


Conference Themes


Invited Speakers

Full Papers




Videos from the Plenary and Semi-Plenary Sessions


Lund Conference on Earth System Governance

-  Towards a Just and Legitimate Earth System Governance:
Addressing Inequalities

April 18-20, 2012

We invite you to the Lund Conference on Earth System Governance
to be held 18-20 April 2012 in Lund, Sweden.

This conference is part of a global series organized by the Earth System Governance Project.
The first Earth System Governance conference was held in Amsterdam in December 2009 and the second in Fort Collins in May 2011.

The 2012 Lund Conference on Earth System Governance is hosted by Lund University and jointly organized by the Lund University Centre for Sustainability Studies (LUCSUS) and the Department of Political Science at Lund University, on behalf of the Earth System Governance Project.

Confirmed speakers include:

John Dryzek, Australian National University
Frank Fischer, Rutgers University
Tim Forsyth, London School of Economics and Political Science
Maarten Hajer, University of Amsterdam
Anna Ledin, The Swedish Research Council for Environment,
Agricultural Sciences and Spatial Planning
Margaret C. Lee, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Rolf Lidskog, Örebro University
Ronnie D. Lipschutz, University of California, Santa Cruz
Morten Ougaard, Copenhagen Business School
Timmons Roberts, Brown University
Eugene A. Rosa, Washington State University
Jan Aart Scholte, Warwick University
Joni Seager, Bentley University
Jens Steffek, Technische Universität Darmstadt
Hayley Stevenson, Sheffield University
Camilla Toulmin, International Institute for Environment and Development

Read more about the invited speakers »


The Earth System Governance Project, a ten-year research programme under the auspices of the International Human Dimensions Programme on Global Environmental Change (IHDP), was launched in 2009 to address the problems of environmental governance. In this project earth system governance is defined as the interrelated system of formal and informal rules, rule-making mechanisms, and actor-networks at all levels of human society (from local to global) that are all set up to steer societies towards preventing, mitigating, and adapting to global and local environmental change and earth system transformation, within the normative context of sustainable development.

The Earth System Governance Project’s Science Plan is organized around five analytical problems.  (available at relates to the emergence, design and effectiveness of governance arrangements. Agency addresses questions of who governs the earth system and how. Adaptiveness explores the ability of governance systems to change in the face of new knowledge and challenges as well as to enhance adaptiveness of social-ecological systems in the face of major disturbances. Accountability refers to the democratic quality of environmental governance arrangements. Finally, the theme of Allocation & Access addresses questions of justice, equity, and fairness.

The Lund Conference on Earth System Governance will address all of these five analytical problems. The conference will particularly focus on research on accountability and legitimacy, and on allocation and access and will critically examine questions of justice, democracy, legitimacy and accountability in research and practice.

We look forward to welcoming you to Lund!

Karin Bäckstrand
and Lennart Olsson
Co-Chairs, 2012 Lund Conference on Earth System Governance

International Steering Committee of the Lund Conference 2012.

  • Prof. Frank Biermann, VU University Amsterdam, The Netherlands
  • Prof. Michele M. Betsill, Colorado State University, United States of America
  • Dr. Ann-Katrin Bäcklund, Human Geography, Lund University, Sweden
  • Dr. Karin Bäckstrand, Lund University, Sweden
  • Prof. Susana Camargo Vieira, Universidade de Itaúna, Brazil
  • Prof. Joyeeta Gupta, UNESCO-IHE Institute for Water Education, and VU University Amsterdam, The Netherlands
  • Prof. Norichika Kanie, Tokyo Institute of Technology, and United Nations University Institute of Advanced Studies, Japan
  • Dr. Louis Lebel, Unit for Social and Environmental Research, Chiang Mai University, Thailand
  • Prof. Diana Liverman, University of Arizona, and Oxford University, United States of America
  • Prof. Lena Neij, The International Institute for Industrial Environmental Economics, Lund University, Sweden
  • Prof. Lars Nilsson, Environmental and Energy Systems Studies, Lund University, Sweden
  • Dr. Heike Schroeder, University of East Anglia, United Kingdom
  • Prof. Bernd Siebenhüner, University of Oldenburg, Germany
  • Prof. Pius Z. Yanda, University of Dar es Salaam, Tanzania 



Travel Info

About Lund

Conference Venues



Panel Proposal

Review Process