skip to Main Content

Changes in the Scientific Steering Committee

The Scientific Steering Committee (SSC) is a body consisting of 12 distinguished scholars who provide the direction for and guide the implementation of the Earth System Governance Project. We wish to make a few announcements to recent changes in the composition of the committee:

Two members act as co-chairs of the SSC at any one time, serving to spearhead the work of the group. For the period of 2021/2022, Prof. James Meadowcroft (Carleton University, Canada) will join Dr. Agni Kalfagianni (Utrecht University, the Netherlands) as Co-Chair of the Earth System Governance Project. We wish to convey our warm thanks to outgoing Dr. James Patterson (Utrecht University, the Netherlands) for his efforts as Co-Chair, in particular for his leadership to assist the ESG Project to navigate and overcome the challenges posed by the Covid-19 Pandemic.

SSC members devote a limited term to the position and work is divided according to a portfolio structure. We are delighted to announce that three new members will join the SSC: Dr. Steffen Bauer (German Development Institute, Germany), Prof. Louis Kotzé (North-West University, South Africa) and Prof. D.G. Webster (Dartmouth University, USA). Dr. Steffen Bauer is a Senior Researcher and Head of Klimalog Project at the German Development Institute. His role in the SSC will relate to the ‘Partners and Outreach’ portfolio. Prof. Louis Kotzé is a Research Professor in Law at the North-West University, South Africa and a Senior Professorial Fellow in Earth System Law at the University of Lincoln, United Kingdom. Louis will help to lead ‘People’ related concerns of the network such as new research fellows and early-career researchers. Prof. D.G. Webster is an Associate Professor of Environmental Studies at Dartmouth University specializing in Ocean Governance and understanding feedbacks within global scale social-ecological systems. She will be active in the SSC work surrounding the Taskforces and Working Groups. The three join Chukwumerije Okereke (Alex-Ekwueme Federal University, Nigeria) as new additions to the SSC for the year of 2021.

As new scholars enter, so do three members exit the SSC. We are deeply grateful for the insights, direction and efforts offered by Prof. Lorraine Elliott (Australian National University, Australia), Prof. David Mungai (University of Nairobi, Kenya) and Dr. Åsa Persson (Stockholm Environment Institute) since late 2018 to ensure the Earth System Governance project remain a vibrant project at the forefront of science and research efforts relating to earth system transformations.

More articles

Marine Social Sciences: For the Ocean We Want
A manifesto for ocean social science that emerged from an online workshop conducted at the Leibniz Centre for Tropical marine Research (ZMT) on Oct 4th 2022.
Going beyond implemention with non-state and subnational climate action
Egypt is hosting this year’s UN Climate Change Conference in Sharm El Sheikh. The slogan of this year’s conference is ‘Together for Implementation’. However, by merely implementing existing pledges under the Paris Agreement, governments would certainly spell the death of the goal to limit global warming to 1.5°C. 
2022 TorontoNews
Looking back at the Toronto Conference
Amid the changing autumn leaves, scholars from across the world met up in Toronto for the Earth System Governance Conference 2022, which took place from the 20th to the 24th of October. The world continues to rapidly change, as different challenges and crises arise and are dealt with on different governance levels. The challenge for this research community is to create knowledge on how to ensure that throughout all these changes, the sustainability transition continues to advance in a just way.