Published on Mar 06, 2017

We congratulate our Scientific Steering Committee member Michelle Scobie (The University of the West Indies, Trinidad and Tobago) and our Lead Faculty member Tatiana Kluvankova (CETIP) with their appointment to the Future Earth Science Committee.

Future Earth has announced that 13 new members will join its Science and Engagement Committees. The new appointees were chosen through a global search and with the goal of balancing the expertise, gender, geographical representation and career stage of each of the committees. The members will serve two-year terms, which began in February 2017, and will guide Future Earth as it addresses critical challenges facing the planet. They include efforts to slow the pace of climate change, the loss of biodiversity and the need to secure food, water and energy for a growing planet.

Future Earth’s Science Committee includes 18 members who provide guidance on evolving the programme’s research agenda. Future Earth’s Engagement Committee, which also includes 18 members, provides valuable insight in how the programme can design and produce research in collaboration with a range of groups. They include leaders in policy, business, civil society, the arts, media and more.