skip to Main Content

The Arctic Governance Project

The Arctic is experiencing fast-paced and far-reaching changes associated both with the effects of climate change and with the impacts of changing global economy. Major players are focusing on the prospects for rapid growth in marine shipping, offshore oil and gas development, commercial fishing, and eco-tourism in previously inhospitable areas. Understandably, others are concerned about the likely impacts of such activities on the Arctic’s small and often traditional human communities and on the region’s ecosystems. This has resulted in an explosion of interest in a wide range of governance issues.

The Arctic Governance Project has collected a variety of perspectives and proposals on science-based Arctic governance solutions in its Compendium.

The Project’s leadership and a diverse cross-section of researchers and stakeholders from all eight Arctic nations will subject these proposals to careful scrutiny at the Tromsø Summit in January 2010. Finally, the Project will compile a set of responsible and widely supported policy recommendations. These recommendations will be presented to key policymakers in the national, international and non-governmental sectors to help guide the efforts underway to come to an international consensus on management of Arctic resources.

The project will draw on traditional ecological knowledge and scientific knowledge. It will pay particular attention to opportunities for strengthening existing mechanisms like the Arctic Council.

More articles

Call for papers: Exploring ‘Planetary Health’ in the Context of Earth System Governance

This call for papers seeks contributions exploring the relevance of the 'Planetary Health' concept within the…

Early Career
Workshop ”Dilemmas as Bridges between Research Groups”

A few weeks ago, a KU Leuven-UU workshop was hosted that aimed at bringing together two…

Can the new global biodiversity agenda avoid another implementation failure? The new Montreal Kunming GBF raises more questions than answers

Yves Zinngrebe, Ioannis Agapakis, Elsa Tsioumani, Sylvia Karlsson-Vinkhuyzen, Joanna Smallwood, Johannes Förster, Ulrike Tröger, Ina Lehmann,…