skip to Main Content

Piero Morseletto receives the Oran R. Young Prize 2018

We congratulate Piero Morseletto for winning the Oran R. Young Prize for the best early-career paper of the 2018 Utrecht Conference – Confronting the nitrogen challenge: options for governance and targets.

The Oran R. Young Prize awarded by the Earth System Governance Project seeks to reward and encourage cutting-edge research on earth system governance by early-career scholars who could become the next generation of leading scholars in the field of environmental governance research – a field shaped and significantly influenced by the pioneering work of Prof. Oran R. Young. Read more about the Prize here.

Runner-up to the winning paper is a study on Governance transformations to reverse the resource curse? The Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative in Myanmar by Marjanneke Vijge (Utrecht University), Robin Metcalfe (independent researcher), Linda Wallbott (Technische Universität Darmstadt), Christoph Oberlack (University of Bern).

Piero Morseletto is a PhD student at the Institute for Environmental Studies (IVM), VU Amsterdam.

For winning the 2018 Oran R. Young Prize, Piero Morseletto will receive a presentation plaque and a book-voucher from The MIT Press worth 250 USD.  

The 2018 Prize Committee

  • Heike Schroeder  (Prize Committee Chair)
  • Steven Bernstein
  • Harriet Bulkeley
  • Julie Ekstrom
  • Christopher Gordon
  • Ronald Mitchell
  • Kanako Morita
  • Michelle Scobie
  • Eduardo Viola
  • Fariborz Zelli


More articles

Call for papers: Exploring ‘Planetary Health’ in the Context of Earth System Governance

This call for papers seeks contributions exploring the relevance of the 'Planetary Health' concept within the…

Early Career
Workshop ”Dilemmas as Bridges between Research Groups”

A few weeks ago, a KU Leuven-UU workshop was hosted that aimed at bringing together two…

Can the new global biodiversity agenda avoid another implementation failure? The new Montreal Kunming GBF raises more questions than answers

Yves Zinngrebe, Ioannis Agapakis, Elsa Tsioumani, Sylvia Karlsson-Vinkhuyzen, Joanna Smallwood, Johannes Förster, Ulrike Tröger, Ina Lehmann,…