Published on Feb 19, 2021

We are delighted and honored to announce the addition of Prof. Chukwumerije (Chuks) Okereke to the Earth System Governance Scientific Steering Committee. Prof. Okereke was invited to join by members of the Scientific Steering Committee at the beginning of 2021 and has hereby accepted to undertake this leading position in the project. A globally recognized scholar on climate governance and international development, many of you will be familiar with his work and his contribution on issues close to earth system governance research, as well as his participation in annual Earth System Governance events, including the closing plenary session of the 2020 Virtual Forum. We welcome his breadth of experience and knowledge that will significantly contribute to lead and guide the network forward.

Prof. Okereke is the Director of Centre for Climate Change and Development in Alex Ekwueme Federal University, Ebony State, Nigeria. He is a Visiting Professor at University of Reading, UK and Senior Academic Visitor at the Oxford University Centre for the Environment (OUCE).  His specialism is climate justice, corporate climate strategies and green economy transition in Africa. He was Lead Author in IPCC AR5 and IPCC special report on 1.5; and he is the Coordinating Lead Author (CLA) of Chapter One in the on-going IPCC Sixth Assessment Cycle (AR6) Working Group III.