skip to Main Content

Diana Liverman receives RGS Royal Medal

The Earth System Governance Project congratulates professor Diana Liverman on being awarded this year’s Founder’s Medal of the Royal Geographical Society. She receives the medal ‘for encouraging, developing and promoting understanding of the human dimensions of climate change’.

Diana Liverman is co-director of the Institute of the Environment and professor of Geography and Development at the University of Arizona. She is also visiting professor of Environmental Policy and Development at the School of Geography and Environment, and Senior Research Fellow at the Environmental Change Institute, both at Oxford University.

Diana Liverman is a member of the Earth System Governance Scientific Steering Committee and has been member of the Earth System Governance Scientific Planning Committee (2007-2008). She also chairs the ESSP joint project on Global Environmental Change and Food Systems (GECAFS).

The prestigious medals and awards of the Royal Geographical Society have recognised excellence in geographical research and fieldwork, teaching and public engagement since 1832. The Founder’s medal approved by Queen Elizabeth II has historically been awarded to prominent explorers and scientists. See here for a list of previous recipients of this medal and here for more information on these years’ medals and awards of the Royal Geographical Society.

More articles

2022 TorontoEarly Career
Early Career Researchers – What should you expect from your trip to Toronto?

We are so looking forward to the ESG conference in 6 weeks in Toronto, Canada. If…

The Netherlands must bring UN Sustainable Development Goals into its political debate

Can progress be made towards Sustainable Development Goals in the Netherlands when they are largely absent…

2022 Toronto
Registration Closes today September 1st

Registration for the 2022 Toronto Conference on Earth System Governance will close today for those looking…